Naas claim Minor Football Championship   26/10/2019


NAAS       3  -  17              CLANE          2  -  7

Naas retained the Minor Football Championship with its third win in four years . They took some minutes to get into their stride but once Man of the Match Brendan Quinn netted after ten minutes they were on their way. At half-time they led 1 – 9 to 0 – 3. Clane reduced the arrears with a penalty after eight minutes in the second half but two Naas goals in a minute mid-way through the half by Eoghan Maguire and Drew Costello gave Naas a fifteen point advantage going into the last quarter.

Naas opened the scoring with a Dan Woulfe point after three minutes. Clane replied with points from Cormac Vissard and Mark Kelly. Naas took the lead with a Brendan Quinn goal after ten minutes. In the remainder of the half Naas scored eight points from Alex Beirne(2), Brendan Quinn(2) and one each from Dan Woulfe, Drew Costello, Tom Browne and Sam Morrissey to one from Clane from Mark Kelly. Naas led at the interval 1 – 9 to 0 – 3.

Naas started strongly in the second half with two Alex Beirne points and one from Brendan Quinn. Clane fought back with a Kelly penalty after eight minutes. Then Sam Morrissey and Oisin Tighe swapped points as did Alex Beirne and Keelan O’Connell. Naas led 1 – 14 to 1 – 5.

Two Naas goals in the 13th. and 14th. minutes by Eoghan Maguire and Drew Costello gave Clane a mountain to climb. Naas tagged on two further points by team captain Paddy McDermott and Eoghan Maguire. Clane replied with a Sean Connolly goal. Tom Browne finished the scoring for Naas with a point from a free. Clane added two more points to their tally before the final whistle.

Scorers: Naas: Brendan Quinn(1 – 3), Alex Beirne(0 – 5), Eoghan Maguire(1 – 1), Drew Costello(1 – 1), Dan Woulfe, Tom Browne, Sam Morrissey(0 – 2 each),Paddy McDermott(0 – 1).

Clane: Mark Kelly(1 – 3), Sean Connolly(1 – 1), Cormac Vissard, Keelan O’Connell, Oisin Tighe(0 – 1 each).

Naas: David Morrissey, Paddy Kelly, Mark Maguire, Eamonn Dunne, Nick Sweeney, Eoin Archbold, Paddy McDermott(Capt.), Drew Costello, Jack Cleary, Tom Browne, Alex Beirne, Sam Morrissey, David Lynch, Brendan Quinn, Dan Woulfe.Subs: Eoin Maguire for David Lynch, Conor McGroary for Nick Sweeney, Neil Aherne for Dan Woulfe,  Declan Kirwan for Tom Browne, Ferran O’Sullivan for Paddy Kelly, Joe Murphy for Drew Costello.

Clane: Cian Burke, Evan Kelly, Sam Hilliard, Chris Nason, Cian Shanahan, John Lynch, Harry o’Neill, Danny Vaughan, Rob Davitt, Sam Reilly, Aaron Connolly, Mark Kelly, Eoin Touhig, Cormac Vissard, Adam Fanning.

Referee: Conor Daly.

Man of the Match : Brendan Quinn(Naas)

facebook twitter youtube