Great win in Ladies league semi final   05/10/2019

Division 2 League Semi – Final September 2019

    Naas 3-08         Balyna 1-08

This encounter proved to be a very entertaining and competitive match; it showcased all the positive attributes of Ladies’ Gaelic Football including, skill, spirit and determination. Naas hosted the match on Thursday 26th September on a very wet evening with a torrential downpour a few hours prior to the commencement of the match. This did not dampen the spirits of all the players and the match was keenly contested and both teams proudly represented their respective clubs. The visitors would have been considered the favourites to qualify for the league decider as they had registered a convincing victory in the group stages earlier in the summer but this young Naas Senior team rose to the challenge and all their hard work on the training pitch and self-belief assisted them in recording a six point victory on the night.

The Balyna team recorded the first score of the match, courtesy of their full forward Laura Carty who accurately converted a free and added a further point to stretch their lead. Naas responded very positively as the dynamic half - forward Lisa Shaw rattled the net after a series of very clever passing movements by the Naas players . This spurred the Naas players to notch up further points and take a lead of two points.  The mid field pairing of Aisling Holton and Rachael  Cribbin worked determinedly as did their Naas counterparts Niamh Bergin and Deirdre Doyle to ensure that their forwards had possession to record further points. Bríona Hoban contributed a point from play while Lisa Shaw converted frees and added another point from play. Erica Burke, as the  Balyna centre forward   was also  particularly effective  during the first half contributing scores and creating scoring opportunities for her team mates. Both teams were well served by their respective goalkeepers; Aisling Kelly directed the Naas   defence in an assertive manner while vigilantly guarding her goal line and her kick-outs were consistently accurate. Síle Holton, was also very diligent in the Balyna goal as she safely gathered the ball on many occasions  as the Naas forwards exerted pressure on the opposing  defence. The match was played   at a frantic pace and both teams continued to exchange scores resulting in a drawn match at half-time, on a score-line of 1-05 each.

All the supporters in attendance eagerly awaited the second half as everyone drew  breath after the exciting moments of the first half. Both teams went in search of the lead and eventually Naas broke the deadlock and  went a point ahead but the Balyna players were not going to relinquish the lead and duly scored an equaliser. Naas then enjoyed a purple patch and forged ahead as Lisa Shaw scored a great individual goal, having run the length of the pitch. This was soon followed by another goal courtesy of Elena Prendergast and Naas now enjoyed a comfortable six point lead with ten minutes remaining. Balyna drew on their wealth of experience and to their credit , they continued to battle and their efforts were rewarded by a well taken goal but Naas likewise showed great character and continued to maintain  their six point advantage with additional points. This was  a superb  team effort , all the squad members contributing to this memorable victory. The  Naas players had now qualified for their second consecutive league final, having won Division 3 Final in 2018 .Both teams should be congratulated as they all represented their club with pride and sport was the real winner on the night as this match brought out the best in both teams as it was a keenly  contested match ,  played in a true sporting manner. Naas will play Sarsfields in the Final on Saturday 5th October in Hawkfield at 3 45 pm in their quest to win a Division 2 League title.

Naas: Aisling Kelly, Aisling Archibold, Maria Doyle, Kate Coffey, Leah Mc Cormack, Rachael Corrigan, Kelly Perkins, Deirdre Doyle, Niamh Bergin, Caoimhe Maher , Lisa Shaw, Áine Conway,Elena Prendergast, Laoise Dunne, Bríona Hoban, Saidbh Farrell, Aoife Mc Carthy, Louise Murphy, Ellen Lynch, Róisín Gallagher and Amy Balfe.

Balyna: Síle Holton, Ciara Mc Errity, Ellen Morgan, Aoife Newman, Kate Langley, Caoimhe Keoghegan, Lauren Murray ,Rachael Cribbin ,Aisling Holton, Leanne Quinn, Erica Burke, Megan Cooney, Aishling Murphy, Laura Carty and Ally MC Donnell.               

facebook twitter youtube