Senior Football Championship v Castledermot   12/08/2019


NAAS   0  -  9      CASTLEDERMOT     0  -  11

Castledermot defeated Naas by two points in windy conditions at Newbridge on Saturday. Naas a point ahead with ten minutes to go failed to add to their tally as Castledermot scored three points without reply. This is not the first time Naas have failed to deal with a massed defence, they now need to beat St. Laurences next week to stay in the Championship.

Naas opened the scoring with an Eoin Doyle point after three minutes. Castledermot  replied with points from Gavin Keating and Paddy Whelan. Luke Griffin(Naas) and Gavin Keating (Castledermot) exchanged frees before two Darragh Kirwan points gave Naas a o – 4 to 0 – 3 lead after 25 minutes. Castlederot levelled matters with a Paddy Whelan point. The teams swapped points just before the interval Naas 0 – 5  Castledermot 0 – 5.

Castledermot started the stronger in the second half and went two ahead with points from Emmet o’Keeffe and Gavin keating. Two Naas points from Ailin McDermott and Eamonn Callaghan brought the sides level at o -7 each. The teams exchanged points before Darragh Kirwan put Naas ahead 0 – 9 to 0 – 8 after twenty minutes. Castledermot took control now and three unanswered points from Gavin Keating(2) and Paraic Murphy gave them a two point cushion at the finish.

Scorers: Naas: Darragh Kirwan (0 – 3), Ailin McDermott(0 – 2), Luke Griffin, Eamonn Callaghan, Eoin Doyle and Brian Kane(0 – 1 each).

Castledermot: Gavin Keating (0 – 6), Paddy Whelan(0 – 2), Anthony Lawlor, Emmet O’Keeffe, Paraic Murphy(0 – 1 each).

Naas: Barry Reynolds, Brian Stynes, Cathal Daly, Eoghan Bateman, Paul Sullivan, Eoin Doyle, Colm Joyce, Conr McCarthy, David Gahan, Brian Byrne, Dean McHolmes, Ailin McDermott, Luke Griffin, Darragh Kirwan, Eamonn Callaghan

facebook twitter youtube