Senior Football League v Sarsfields Semi Final   22/07/2019


NAAS     4  -  10           SARSFIELDS        1  -  10

Two Colm Joyce goals, one in each half, and two late goals from Ronan Joyce and Eamonn Callaghan gave Naas a nine point win over Sarsfields and put them in the Leader cup final against Carbury next weekend. Although Naas were the better team through-out the game the winning margin does not do Sarsfields justice .

A Colm Joyce goal in the 20th. minute separated the sides at the interval as Naas led 1 – 5 to 0 – 5. A Darragh McHugh goal had the sides level in the 4th. minute of the second half. But try as they did they could not take the lead .

Naas opened the scoring with a point for Naas. Sarsfields replied with points from Alan Smith and Conor Hartley. The teams exchanged points before Barry Reynolds converted a “45” to level matters at the end of the first quarter.

 A Colm Joyce goal in the 20th. minute gave Naas a three point lead. Then Declan McKenna(Sarsfields) and Eamonn Callaghan(Naas) swapped points as did Eoghan Bateman (Naas) and Mattie Byrne(Sarsfields). Naas led at the interval 1 – 5 to 0 – 5 .

Sarsfields drew level at the start of the second half with a Darragh McHugh goal. Eamonn Callaghan and Alan Smith exchanged points before Naas went three ahead with points from Eamonn Callaghan(2) and Darragh Kirwan. Sarsfields reduced the arrears to a point with two Ray Cahill frees

. Two minutes later an eamonn Callaghan pass found Colm Joyce on the edge of the square and the latter scored his second goal of the game. A long range Sean Cullen point for Naas was answered by a Conor Hartley point. Naas led 2 – 10 to 1 – 9. Two late goals from Ronan Joyce and Eamonn Callaghan saw Naas through to the final.

Scorers: Naas: Eamonn Callaghan(1 – 5), Colm Joyce(2 – 0), Barry Reynolds, Eoghan Bateman, Sean Cullen, Darragh Kirwan and Luke Griffin(o – 1 each).

Sarsfields: Conor Hartley(0 – 4), Darragh McHugh(1 – 0), Alan Smith(0 – 2), Declan McKenna(0 – 1), Mattie Byrne(0 – 1), Ray Cahill(0 – 2).

Naas: Barry Reynolds, Johnny Heavey, Brian Byrne, Luke Griffin, Brian Kane, Eoin Doyle, Eoghan Bateman, David Gahan, Conor McCarthy, Ailin McDermott, Eamonn Callaghan, Adam Cronin, Sean Cullen, Colm Joyce, Darragh Kirwan.

Sarsfields: John Melia, Niall O’Connor, Tom Aspell, Alan Scully, Darragh Ryan, Shea Ryan, Darragh McHugh, Matty Byrne, Caoimhin Mc Donnell, Conor Hartley, Barry Coffey, Dave Shalvey, Declan McKenna, Shane Doyle, Alan Smith.

Referee : Niall Colgan

facebook twitter youtube