Senior Football League v Maynooth - Report   20/07/2019


NAAS     3  -  15         MAYNOOTH      1  -  15

Naas finished off their league campaign with a six point victory over Maynooth. Naas had already qualified for the semi-finals and Maynooth relegated to Div.2 and as a result the game lacked a competitive edge. Maynooth stated well and were 1 – 1 to 0 – 0 after five minutes. Two Naas goals from Colm Joyce and Sean Cullen saw Naas Take a four point interval lead 2 – 6 to 1 – 5. Both teams had their spells in the second half but a second Colm Joyce goal put the issue beyond doubt.

In the opening half Maynooth opened the scoring with a Chris Canning point and a Ruadhan O Giollain goal after five minutes. Then Colm Joyce and Neil Flynn exchanged points . A Maynooth penalty was saved by Naas Keeper Barry Reynolds. A Colm Joyce goal in the 12th. minute the arrears to a single point.

Eamonn Callaghan brought the sides level and Naas went four ahead with a Brian Kane point and a Sean Cullen goal. Points by Flynn and O Giollain put two between them . Before the interval Naas went five clear with points from Callaghan, Colm Joyce and Brian Stynes. A Paul Maguire point for Maynooth reduced it to four at the break. Naas 2 – 6 Maynooth 1 – 5.  

Maynooth dominated the early stages of the second half with three Neil Flynn points to leave one between them. Naas replied with two Dallan Gallagher points and an Eaonn Callaghan free. Three Maynooth points on the trot for Maynooth from Neil Flynn(2) and Chris Cannking brought them to within one point again.

 Naas again  replied with three of their own from Colm Joyce Eamonn Callaghan and Luke Griffin. Maynooth again closed the gap to two points with points from Flynn and O Giollain.  A second Colm Joyce goal in the 20th.minute followed by a Sean Cullen point put Naas six ahead 3 – 13 to 1 – 13.  The sides swapped two points each in the final minutes from Neil Flynn(Maynooth) and Ronan Joyce (Naas).

Scorers: Naas: Colm Joyce(2 – 3), Eaonn Callaghan(0 – 4), Sean Cullen(1 – 1), Ronan Joyce and Dallan Gallagher (0 – 2 each), Luke Griffin, Brian Kane and Brian Stynes (0 – 1 each) .

Maynooth: Neil Flynn(0 – 10), Raudhan O Giollain(1 – 2), Chris Canning(0 – 2), Paul Maguire(0 – 1).

Naas: Barry Reynolds, Brian Stynes, Eoghan Bateman, FFiachra Piggott, Brian Kane, Eoin Doyle, Ailin McDermott, Brian Byrne, Conor McCarthy, Colm Joyce, Sean Cullen, Adam Cronin, Dean McHolmes, Eamonn Callaghan, Darragh Kirwan.

Maynooth: Mark Donnellan, Conor Coyle, Sean Kennedy, Niall O’Sullivan, Darragh Hurley, Darren Maguire, Ruadhan O Giollain, Jihn McAndrew, Sean Higgins, Bankole Alansoye, Chris canning, Kevin Dunne, Neil Flynn, Paul Maguire, David Banass.   

facebook twitter youtube