Senior Football League v Leixlip - Report   20/07/2019


NAAS       3  -  8           LEIXLIP       1  -  14

Naas and Leixlip played out a draw in this Rd. 10 game at Leixlip. While a point was sufficient for Naas to qualify for the semi-finals, a point did not ease Leixlip relegation worries.. Naas dominated the first half and with three goals in twelve minutes led by six at the interval 3 – 4 to 0 – 7.

Leixlip fought back in the second half and had reduced the lead to two points after forty six minutes. Then a Tommy Moolick goal a minute later put Leixlip ahead for the first time 1 – 12 to 3 – 5. An    Eamonn. Callaghan extra time free  brought the sides level.

Leixlip opened the scoring with points from Ciaran Fadian and Tommy Moolick. Naas replied with  an Eamonn Callaghan point followed by a goal by the same player. Two  minutes later Naas had a second goal from Dean McHolmes. Naas led 2 – 1 to 0 – 2.

 Tommy Moolick replied with a Leixlip point but a second Callaghan goal after twelve minutes put Naas seven points in front. Neil Jordan(Leixlip) and Dean McHolmes (Naas) swapped points Two Tomy Moolick points reduced the arrears to five with five minutes remaining in the half. Ronan Joyce (Naas) and Ciaran Fadian(Leixlip) exchanged points before Eoghan Bateman put six between them at the interval 3 – 4 to 0 – 7.

Naas opened the scoring in the second half with an Eamonn Callaghan point. Leixlip then took control with five unanswered point, four from Paddy Meagher free reduced the arrears to two after forty six minutes. A minute later a Tommy Moolick goal gave Leixlip a one point lead.

 An Eamonn Callaghan free and an Adam Cronin point restored the Naas lead. A Leixlip point from Mikey French made it a draw. In extra time Tommy Moolick put Leixlip in front with a free but before the final whistle Naas captain Eamonn Callaghan repied with a similar score.

Scorers: Naas:Eamonn Callaghan(2 – 4), Dean McHolmes(1 – 1), Ronan Joyce, Eoghan Bateman and Adam Cronin 0 – 1 each).

Leixlip: Tommy Moolick(1 – 5), Paddy Meagher(0 – 4), Ciaran Fadian(0 – 2), Neil Jordan, Tom Gibbons, Mikey French 0 – 1 each).

Naas: Barry Reynolds, Johnny Heavey, Conor McCarthy, Fiachra Piggott, Brian Kane, Eoghan Bateman, Adam Cronin, Brian Byrne, David Gahan, Sean Cullen, Dallan Gallagher, Ailin McDermott, Dean McHolmes, Ronan Joyce, Eamonn Callaghan.

Leixlip: Kyle Costello, John Doran, Kevin Conneely, Conor Flynn, Ciaran Fadian, Jack Travers, Brian Gibbons, Ronan Fitzsimmons, Tommy Moolick, Dessie Hynes, Tom Gibbons, Niall White, Neil Jordan, Paddy Meagher, Ciaran Masterson.

Referee : P.J.Cummins (Celbridge).

facebook twitter youtube