Aldridge Cup vs St. Laurences   19/02/2019


NAAS    1  -  15              ST. LAURENCES      1  -  6

In an entertaining game Naas proved too strong  for the Larries winning  by nine points. Naas dominated the first half and led by six points at the interval 0 -9 to 0-3. Naas missed at least two goals in that period. Laurences started well in the second and an 8th. minute goal by Ryan Fennor left three between them. Naas fought back with a 23rd. minute Barry Murphy goal to seal matters.

Naas opened the scoring with a Luke Griffin point and an Eamonn Callaghan free. The Larries reduced the arrears with a  point by Jack Dargan.  Naas replied  with three Eamonn Callaghan points and one each from Colm Joyce and Darragh Kirwan. The sides scored two points each  in the final minutes of the half to put Naas six points clear at the break leading 0 – 9 to 0 – 3.

The Larries attacked strongly at the start of the second half . The sides exchanged points in the early minutes of the half. Then a Ryan Fennor goal left three between them. Naas replied immediately with two Eamonn Callaghan frees and a Paul Sullivan point to restore the six point advantage. The visitors fought back with points from Padraig o’Neill and Cor Byrne but Naas finished the stronger with two Ciaran Doyle points and a Barry Murphy goal to win by nine.

Scorers: Naas: Eamonn Callaghan(0 – 7) 6 frees, Barry Murphy(1 – 0),Colm Joyce(0 – 2), Darragh Kirwan(0 – 2), Ciaran Doyle(0 – 2)one free, Luke Griffin(0 – 1), Paul Sullivan(0 – 1).

St.Laurences: Ryan Fennor(1 – 1). Jack Dargan(0 – 2),Padraig O’Neill(0 – 1).,  Ryan Cullen(0 – 1), Cor Byrne(0 – 1).

Naas:Luke Mullins, Johnny Heavey, Conor McCarthy, Fiachra Piggott, Paul Sullivan, Eoghan Bateman, Brian Stynes, David Gahan, Sean Cullen, Brian Kane, Luke Griffin, Colm Joyce, Dean McHolmes, Eamonn Callaghan, Darragh Kirwan. Subs: John Joyce, Ailin McDermott, Barry Murphy, Ciaran Doyle.

St. Laurences: Shane Connolly, Michael O’Sullivan, Eoin Clifford, Eoin Curley, Steven Mann, Niall Clynch, Daragh Miley, Padraig O’Neill, Adam Steed, Jack Dargan, Mark Glynn,Ryan Cullen, Tommy o’Neill, Ryan Fennor, James Fahey. Subs: Cian Crowe, Cor Byrne, Shane Miley

facebook twitter youtube