NAAS MFL CHAMPIONS 2018   23/04/2018


NAAS      1  -  15       AYLMER GAELS      1  -  10

Naas won back to back Div. 1 league titles in a closely fought encounter with Aylmer Gaels. Playing with the wind Naas with the aid of a Luke Griffin penalty led 1 – 4 to 0 – 4 after fifteen minutes Three late first half points gave the Gaels a one point interval lead0 – 9 to 1 – 5.

Naas dominated the second half with Jack Cleary and Eoin Archbold completely on top at mid-field. Naas scored six unanswered points to take a five point lead. An Aylmer goal reduced the arrears to two points.

Naas stretched the lead to four with points from Colm Joyce and Sam Morrissey. A Gaels point left three between them. Luke Griffin had the last say with two frees for a five point lead and the minor league title for the County town for the second year in a row.

Scorers: Naas: Luke Griffin (1 – 5), Colm Joyce(0 – 4), Jack Cleary(0 -3), Paddy McDermott,Tom Browne and Sam Morrissey( 0 – 1 each).

Naas: Alex Beirne, Eamonn Dunne, Conor McGroary, Rian Monaghan, Paddy Kelly, Eoghan Prizeman, Paddy McDermott, Jack Cleary, Eoin Archbold, Colm Joyce, Billy Byrne, Luke Griffin, Ronan Kelly, Eoghan Maguire, Tom Browne. Subs: Dermot Hannafin for Eoghan Maguire, Mark Maguire for Ronan Kelly, Liam SWalsh for Conor McGroary, Sam Morrissey for Paddy Kelly.

facebook twitter youtube