S.F.L. Div. 1 V Raheens   25/03/2018


NAAS 0 - 19 RAHEENS 1 - 10

Naas who lost out to Moorefield in the Leinster Leader cup final last year started this years campaign with a six point victory over Raheens. Naas made the early running and led 0 – 3 to 0 – 2 after seven minutes. A minute later a Barry Winders goal gave Raheens the initiative and they led by three points at the interval 1 – 7 to 0 – 7.

Naas dominated the third quarter scoring nine points without reply. After twenty minutes Naas led by six 0 – 16 to 1 – 7. In the remaining ten minutes the teams scored three points each to give Naas a comfortable win.

Raheens opened the scoring with an Alan Igoe point from a free. Naas equalised with a Zilin McDermott point and went ahead Ciaran Doyle pointed. The teams sapped points before Barry Winders put Raheens ahead after eight minutes with a goal.

Two Alan Igoe points put Raheens four points clear after twenty 1 – 4 to 0 – 3. Brian Kane and Alan Igoe exchanged points. Three Naas points from Paul Mc Dermott, Ciaran Doyle and Ronan Joyce reduced the arrears to one point . In the last minute of injury time two Raheens points put three in front at the break. Raheens led 1 – 7 to 0 – 7.

Naas dominated the first twenty minutes of the second half scoring nine points without reply from Ronan Joyce (0 – 3), Ross Kelly (0 – 2) and . , Brian Byrne, Ailin McDermott, Brian Kane(0 - 1 each).

Naas led 0 – 16 to 1 – 7. Two Alan Igoe points reduced the arrears but points from Brian kane and Paul McDermott restored their six point advantage. Points from Barry Winders and Ciaran Doyle completed the scoring.

Scorers: Naas: Ronan Joyce (0 – 4), Brian Kane(0 – 4), Ciaran Doyle(0 – 4), Ross Kelly (0 – 2),Ailin McDermott(0 – 2), Paul McDermott(0 – 2), Brian Byrne( 0 – 1).

Raheens: Alan Igoe(0 – 6), Barry Winders (1 – 2), Rory Donnelly(0 – 1), David Malone(0 – 1)

Naas: Barry Reynolds, John Hill, Shane Bergin, Paul Sullivan, Adam Cronin, Eoghan Bateman, Ailin McDermott, Brian Kane, Paul McDermott, Brian Byrne, Ronan Joyce, Dallan Gallagher, Darragh Merriman, Ross Kelly, Ciaran Doyle.

Raheens: Declan Campbell, Shane Crowley, Tom Early, Matthew Betts-Symonds, Jason Early, Conor Early, Thomas Dore, Rory Hannick, Rory Donnelly, David Malone, Alan Igoe, Cathal Duffy, Nicholas Kennedy, John Jennings, Barry Winder.

Thanks to Liam McManus for the report and photos.

For more photos, view: Gallery, Adult photos 2018

facebook twitter youtube