MINOR FOOTBALL LEAGUE DIV.1 Naas 2-15 Eadestown 0-09   26/02/2018

NAAS 2 - 15 EADESTOWN 0 - 9

In an entertaining game at Eadestown Naas proved too strong overall for the home side. After an early exchange of points Naas got on top scoring 1 – 4 without reply. Three points without reply for Eadestown closed the gap but Naas led 1 – 7 to 0 – 4 at the interval.

Sores were fairly even at the start of the second half but a Tom Browne goal for Naas put the issue beyond doubt as Naas were successful by a twelve point margin.

Naas opened the scoring with an Ian Blackbourne point. Eadestown equalised with a point from a free by Eoin Doyle , Three Naas points by Joe Murphy, Colm Joyce, Luke Griffin and Dermot Hannafin gave Naas a 0 – 4 to 0 – 1 lead.

Naas went further ahead when corner forward Dermot Hannafin scored a goal and a point. Eadestown now took over for a spell scoring three points by Eden Reilly and Eoin Doyle (2) The half ended with a Luke griffin point for Naas. Naas led 1 – 7 to 0 – 4 at the interval.

Eadestown opened the scoring in the second half with a point by Samuel Harney-. Naas replied with points from Joyce and Griffin. Eadestown pointed from a “45” by Harney again-.

Naas increased their lead to eight points with a Billy Byrne point and a Colm Joyce free. Eadestown reduced this to six with points from Harry Carroll and Eoin Doyle-.

Naas dominated the last quarter with two Luke Griffin points , a goal and a point from Tom Browne and an Ian Blackbourne point.

Scorers: Naas: Luke Griffin(0 – 5), Dermot Hannafin(1 – 1), Tom Browne(1 – 1), Colm Joyce(0 – 3), Ian Blackbourne(0 – 2), Eoin Archbald, Billy Byrne, Joe Murphy (0 – 1 each.

Eadestown: Eoin Doyle(0 – 5), Samuel Harney( 0 – 2), Eden Reilly(0 – 1), Harry Carroll(0 – 1).

Naas: Alex Beirne, Liam walsh, Eoghan Prizeman, Rian Monaghan, Paddy Kelly, Conor McGrory, Cormac Dempsey, Eoin Archbold, Ian Blackbourne, Billy Byrne, Colm Joyce, Jack Carroll, Joe Murphy, Luke Griffin, Dermot Hannafin. Sub: Tom Browne.

Eadestown: Aaron Lawler, Sam Cahill, Robert Hynes, Tom Mernagh, Paul Harney, Jack Sargent, John Lawler, Luca Conroy, Harry Carroll, David Barton, Eoin Doyle, Eden Reilly, Aiden Cassidy, Samuel harney, Thomas Dillon.

Thanks to Liam McManus for the report & photos

facebook twitter youtube