SFL DIV1 NAAS 3-12 CLOGHERINKOE 0-11   13/06/2017



Naas had a comfortable ten point victory over Clogherinkoe at Clogherinkoe. Playing with the breeze in the first half Naas dominated the game and had two goals in the first twenty minutes from Conor Mellett and Aiden Begley to lead at the interval 2 – 7 to 0 – 5.

Despite playing with only fourteen men Naas dominated the early stages of the second half. In the latter stages of the half Clogherinkoe fought back with four points without reply but they never looked like threatening the visitors.

Naas started strongly with four points from Philip Cocoman(2), Conor Mellett and Ross Bergin. Clogherinkoe replied with a Jack Robinson free. Naas went further ahead when Conor Mellett netted and Naas led 1- 4 to 0 – 1 after twelve minutes.

Simon Murtagh (Clogherinkoe) swapped points with Ross Bergin (Naas) . Naas got their second goal when corner forward Aiden Begley scored after seventeen minutes. The sides then swapped two frees each just before the interval. At the break Naas led 2 – 7 to 0 – 5.

Naas continued were they left off at the interval when full-forward Philly Cocoman pointed after a minute and then put Ailin McDermott through for a similar score. Conor Mellett and Jack Robinson exchanged points . Good work by Brian Kane found David Gahan who found the net for goal number three.

Naas led 3 – 10 to 0 – 6. Clogherinkoe now had their best spell and scored four points without reply from Jack Robinson(2 frees), Mark Nolan and Rory Phelan. Naas replied with points from Philly Cocoman and Paul Mc Dermott.

 Clogherinkoe completed the scoring with a Mark Nolan free.

Naas: Luke Mullins, Shane Gibbons, Shane Bergin, Oisin Gill, Brian Kane, Eoghan Bateman, Ailin McDermott,(0 – 1) David Gahan(1 – 0), Ross Kelly, Joey Cocoman, Ross Bergin(0 – 3), Paul McDermott(0 – 1), Conor Mellett (1 – 3), Philly Cocoman(0 – 4), Aiden Begley(1 – 0).

Clogherinkoe: Gary Ryan, Damien Flood, Sean McEvoy, Conor Grehan, Michael O’Rourke, Conor Swan, Simon Murtagh(0 – 1), Eoghan McMonagle, Glen Basnett, Rory Phelan(0 – 1), Mark Nolan(0 – 2), Caelum Flanagan, Jack Robinson(0 – 7), Keith
Wilkinson, Gavin Scanlon.

Referee: Michael Malone


facebook twitter youtube