MFL Div. 1 Naas 4 - 12 Celbridge 2-04   26/02/2017



Naas  4  -  12     Celbridge     2  -  04

Naas had a comfortable victory over Celbridge in very windy conditions in Celbridge, Two First half goals, a 7th minute penalty by Luke Griffin and a 28th minute goal from Darragh Kirwan gave Naas a half time lead of 2 – 8 to 1 – 3.

Two more goals in the second half by Keith O’ Connor after three minutes and a second Darragh Kirwan goal in the 20th minute put Naas in a commanding position. Celbridge fought back with two goals of their own but it was not enough to overcome a strong Naas side.

Naas started with a Darragh Kirwan point but John Clarke replied for Celbridge.

A point by Luke Griffin for Naas followed by a goal from a penalty by the same player gave Naas a four point lead. The teams swapped points before Colm Joyce pointed a free for Naas. A Shane Masterson goal for Celbridge reduced the arrears to two points. Naas led 1 - 4 to 1 – 2.

The sides swapped points when Liam O’ Flynn(Celbridge) and Luke Griffin (Naas) pointed. Naas dominated the remainder of the half with Darragh Kirwan scoring 1 – 2 and Sam Morrissey a point. Naas led at the interval 2 – 8 to 1 – 3.

Naas started strongly in the second half with a Luke Griffin point followed by a Keith O’Connor goal and a Brian Stynes point. Naas led 3 – 10 to 1 – 3. Celbridge replied with a goal from David McGivern and a point from Shane Masterson to reduce the arrears to nine points. 

This was Celbridge’s last score while Naas went on to add a further 1 – 2 to their tally

Scorers: Naas: Darragh Kirwan (2 – 4), Luke Griffin,((1 – 3), Keith O’Connor(1 – 0), Colm Joyce (0 – 2), Brian Stynes, Sam Morrissey and Dallen Gallagher(0 – 1 each)

Celbridge: Shane Masterson(1 – 1), David McGivern(1 – 0), Liam O’Flynn (0 – 2), John Clarke(0 – 1)

Naas: David Morrissey, Kieran Redmond, Niall Murphy, Cathal daly, Eoghan Prizeman, Brian stynes, Paddy McDermott, Cian Holmes, Adam Cronin, Dallen Gallagher, Sam Morrissey, Colm Joyce, Luke griffin, Keith O’Connor, Darragh Kirwan .

Celbridge: Cian McCloskey, John Geaney, Lee Maycock, Cian O’Donnchadha, James Killian, Eoin Kileen, Taslim Agbonttaen, Shane Masterson, Liam O’Flynn, Paddy Carragher, John Clarke, David McGivern, Ciaran McGoldrick, Paddy Wall, Philip Byrne.


facebook twitter youtube